🗽 Can you Get PAID Maternity Leave in your State? (Compare States Here!)

Hey supermoms!

If you’re expecting a new little bundle soon, you’re probably wondering – what are the maternity leave laws in my state? Do I get paid time off? Am I guaranteed job protection?

Great questions! Leave policies vary SO much depending on where you live in the US. Some states are generous while others are … not so much.

Does your State have Paid Maternity Leave?

USA map

I dug into the details so you don’t have to. Get your note pads ready to compare your state to others! Knowledge is power, mamas.

First, the tough truth:

Only EIGHT states require paid maternity leave:

  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Massachusetts
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • Washington

California’s new law gives 12 weeks partial pay to moms at companies with 20+ employees. And Oregon provides 100% wage replacement for all eligible new moms.

Unpaid Maternity Leave (In the Law!)

Some other states like Hawaii and Kentucky give you unpaid time off. Better than nothing! But having a baby is stressful enough without worrying about lost income.

And Tennessee ensures a whopping 16 weeks of unpaid leave!

Out of Luck in these States?

In places like Wyoming, it’s totally up to your employer. And federal law only guarantees unpaid leave if you work somewhere with 50+ employees.

Table Summary

Here’s a table summary for easy reference (sorry – I couldn’t get data on some states):

StatePaid/UnpaidDuration of LeaveAdditional Notes
CaliforniaPaidUp to 12 weeksFor companies with 20+ employees. No job protection, covers part/full-time employees.
ConnecticutPaid12 weeks + 2 extra weeksFor serious health conditions during pregnancy. Requires 12 months of employment.
MassachusettsPaidUp to 12 weeksFor employees in companies paying into unemployment insurance.
New JerseyPaidUp to 12 weeks24 weeks of job protection available.
OregonPaidNot specified100% wage replacement. For employees earning at least $1000 a year.
Rhode IslandPaidUp to 13 weeksIn two calendar years, for a serious health condition, including pregnancy.
New YorkPaidUp to 12 weeksIntroduced in a phased approach, starting with 8 weeks in 2018, reaching 12 weeks in 2021.
WashingtonPaidUp to 12 weeksStarting January 2020.
HawaiiUnpaidUp to 4 weeksEach year, for eligible employees.
IowaUnpaidNot specifiedFor companies with 4+ employees.
KentuckyUnpaid6 weeksFor birth or adoption.
LouisianaUnpaid6 weeks + 4+ months6 weeks for employees of companies with 25+ employees; 4+ months for pregnancy disabilities.
MaineUnpaid10 weeksWithin a period of two years, for companies with 15+ employees.
MarylandUnpaid10 weeksFor companies with 15-49 employees.
MinnesotaUnpaid12 weeksWithin 12 months of birth/adoption, for companies with 21+ employees.
MontanaUnpaid6 weeks + up to 15 daysFor public employees; adoptive leave available.
New HampshireUnpaidNo time limitFor companies with 6+ employees; if leave is offered for other illnesses, it must be the same for pregnancy.
North DakotaUnpaidUp to 12 weeksFor state employees within a 12-month period.
TennesseeUnpaid4 monthsOffering paid leave is up to the company’s discretion.
VermontUnpaid12 weeksIn a 12-month period, for companies with 10+ employees.
West VirginiaUnpaidNot specifiedFor companies with 12+ employees, pregnant employees must have been with the company for over 12 weeks.
WisconsinUnpaid6 weeks + 2 weeksFor birth/adoption, companies with 50+ employees. Additional 2 weeks for caring for a family member.
WyomingUnpaid/PaidUp to the employer
District of ColumbiaUnpaidUp to 8 weeksFor those who give birth or adopt.
Puerto RicoUnpaidUp to 12 weeksGenerally 8 weeks: 4 weeks pre-birth, 4 weeks post-birth. For medically necessary situations.
Adapted From: World Population Review

Share the details of your state’s policy in the comments so we can compare.

Hugs!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top